Saturday, March 23, 2013

Fruititarian Week

So, I really don't enjoy stressing out over my calorie intake. Or working out, particularly (understatement of the century). However, I do enjoy feeling healthy and taking small steps to ensure that I'm taking care of myself.


Other things I enjoy: fruit! I frickin' love fruit. Ergo, I decided to embark on a little week-long experiment and see if I could be a fruititarian for a week. Of course, adding in some protein and other slip ups, but trying my best to stick to it and give my body a break from a week of processed food. If I officially call it a diet, I'll abandon it flat - but I do like the idea of giving the 'ol bod a break.

I got kind of inspired to do this based off of the blog I discussed in my last post, and his experience with eating lots of fruit.

Monday:

Breakfast: grapes

Lunch: see, this is where I screwed it up. Due to a mix up with work and a lack of time to get to HEB to buy produce, I went through the Taco Bell drive through, and reminded myself this was only Day 1. I'm allowed to suck a little sometimes, and it wouldn't be my experiment if I didn't have my 'cheat day' on Monday.


Dinner: 2 turkey dogs for me, 1 turkey dog for Zoey (I had officially made this my cheat day so oh well ... did I mention I'm not great at dieting?)

Snack: banana and peanut butter

Tuesday:

Breakfast: banana and lemon water

Lunch: banana slices, blackberries, grapes, apple juice, slices of turkey and ham (see? I'm getting the hang of it now)


Dinner: an entire cantaloupe (I AM WOMAN) and clementines + moscato ... which, plus side to eating mostly fruit, you get drunk quiiiickly.


Snack: apple slices and peanut butter

Wednesday:

Breakfast: banana and peanut butter

Lunch: Mango, cucumber, grapes, and turkey/ham

See... this is when I began to realize, if this was a diet? I could definitely make this work. I feel like with regular "diets" of limiting calorie counts, low carb food, nonfat stuff, etc etc etc, it just stresses me out and make me want to eat MORE. I did the Special K diet once with my roommate and thought I was dying. Fruit? Especially eating as much fruit as I'd like? I can do.


Dinner: a package of lean turkey and mustard and a tangelo w/ Sweet Leaf Tea

Snack: ok, this was sort of cheating but it totally has fruit all over it so it sorta counts.


Thursday:

Breakfast: sliced banana and blackberries w/ orange juice

Lunch: grapes, ham/turkey, nectarine slices and apple juice


Dinner: tangelo and a package of ham/mustard

Snack: Mint chocolate chip ice cream (my vice...)

Friday:

Breakfast: grapefruit and sugar (I'm not gonna brave it without sugar, bitch please)

Lunch: ham/turkey with mustard (which, coincidentally has 0 calories. I just like mustard a lot)

Dinner: TORCHY'S TACOS. I was good all week, so I went out. It was straight up food porn. 

Snack: Shiner ruby redbird ... If you can count that as an evening snack?


Saturday:

Breakfast: clementines

Lunch: (running out of produce, finally!) cucumber slices, tangelo slices, the last of the ham and turkey with mustard and a Sweet Leaf Peach tea. Chya.


Dinner: Smoked Sirloin at Tx Land and Cattle with Mom! You're never too old for Mom to go on dates with Mom. Srsly. We had several appetizers to share (crab cakes, chips/steak queso) and their yummy bread. Oh, and a laaaaarge Dos Equis. It was the end of the week, time to celebrate!

Sunday: 

So, I suck a little and forgot to document Sunday's meals. As I'm writing this a bit later, I'm not sure what I had. I do know that I had some produce left and finished it off, which included a mango and some grapes. Oye.

What I learned:

Diets are hard. Even when you don't call something a "diet", your body (and mind) knows that you're limiting yourself and could be nom-ing cookies or something, and instead you're having cantaloupe. Luckily, I do really like fruit. And with the protein from the ham and turkey, it wasn't half bad. I felt a little healthier. I didn't really lose weight, I don't think, as I didn't weigh myself. However, if I continued this for a longer period of time, then I bet I would start to see some results!

A quick note, after the fact:

I did continue this trend of fruit-heavy lunches, with some Chiobani greek yogurt for breakfast for 3 weeks following! Dinners is where I kind of did whatever. I need to get better at actually cooking so that I'll be inspired to go home and try something.

Sunday, March 17, 2013

2 years later...

Today, I read a blog post someone shared on Facebook and accidentally remembered I had a blog. Oh, yeah. The blog I came across was Neville's Financial blog, which gave me a little spark of inspiration to locate my own long-forgotten Internet diary and give it a second go.

I had really enjoyed my weekly blogging previously, but I had started it specifically because I was studying abroad and wanted an outlet to share with friends/family back home all the kickin' things I was doing.

It got me thinking that however mundane, I am thoroughly obsessed with documenting my life (hello, the reason most of us have a FB or twitter account). Maybe this will give me another outlet to express myself, possibly in a more creative way than 'checking in' or scrolling through and "liking" (although, I'll be doing that too, don't worry).

Life updates as of now:

I got a dog. With whom I am thoroughly obsessed. Meet Zoey:


I graduated Southwestern and moved into Austin.

I work at a retail dance store, as their asst. manager and teach tap to ever-so-delightful little children. This daily reinforces my plan to wait until I'm 30-something to procreate.

I'm planning to move  to London in a year or so, to pursue theatre on a larger scale. Maybe this blog will keep me accountable to actually dreaming big, and not getting caught up in the mundane.

Um. I started up this blog again?

Oh, and I'm getting a deep conditioning hair treatment as we speak.